Baby Scream – Lost Balloons

ES 2235


In 2011 Baby Scream released its 8th album, Secret Place, and Juan Pablo Mazzola, the leader, decidied to clean the closet and the shelves. That’s how the album Lost Balloons was born, a compilatuion of old recordings, demos, cover versions and songs that didn’t made the final tracklist of other releases. The album contains 17 tracks and the band and the label decided to give it away as a free download.

Lost Balloons contains original songs as well as covers of The Ramones, T-Rex, The Replacements, Tony Orlando, The Electric Prunes and John Lennon.

It also includes the songs “Reality” and “Song For A Soldier”, originally written by Marc Bolan (glam rock superstar, singer of the band T-Rex, dead in 1977) that have an unusual story (as it usually happens around Baby Scream). A collector from Norway called Iojan Bolgard bought in an auction (for tens of thousands of dollars) many reel tapes and acetates that originally belonged to Marc Bolan and discovered two new, unknown songs written by Bolan who were never released, “Reality” and “Song For A Soldier”, this last one a protest against the Vietnam war. By chance Juan Pablo Mazzola, a huge Marc Bolan/ T-Rex fan himself, came across Bolgard, stood in his home in Norway and the collector played the songs for him and offered him to make new, Baby Scream versions of the songs. But Baby Scream never was able to overcome the legal onstacles to release the songs commercially, in fact those songs are officially unknown and there’s no record of them as Bolan in any legal form, so, not knowing what to do with them and existing in a legal limbo, they were included in Lost Balloons.



01. We Are Against The System (One More Chance) [Demo]
02. Ball Of Fun
03. I’ve Had Enough With You
04. Onie [Demo] // The Electric Prunes cover
05. Revenge Of The Nerds
06. I Don’t Wanna Wake Up From This Dream [Demo]
07. Barry’s Blues (The Groover Radio Show) [Jingle]
08. Tie a Yellow Ribbon ‘Round The Old Oak Tree// Tony Orlando cover
09. Sadly Beautiful [Home Recording] // The Replacements cover
10. When The Angels Sing // Social Distortion cover
11. Judy is a Punk // The Ramones cover
12. Beat On The Brat // The Ramones cover
13. A Song For a Soldier // Marc Bolan lost demo cover
14. Reality // Marc Bolan lost demo cover
15. High Wire [Demo] // T-Rex cover
16. Cosmic Dancer (feat. Deafboy One) // T-Rex cover
17. Working Class Hero (feat. Deafboy One) // John Lennon cover


All songs written by Juan Pablo Mazzola except for 04: Tucker/ Mantz 08: Levine/ Brown 09: Paul Westerberg 10: Mike Ness 11, 12: Ramone/ Ramone/ Ramone/ Ramone 13, 14, 15 16: Marc Bolan 17: John Lennon